ASCE members have elected Feniosky A. Peña-Mora, Sc.D, P.E., NAS, CCM, F.CIOB, NAC, Dist.M.ASCE, as the Society's president-elect.

Peña-Mora’s involvement with ASCE dates to 1990 as a student member. He will be inducted as ASCE’s 2024 president-elect during the Society’s annual business meeting this October in Chicago at the ASCE 2023 Convention. A year later, he will assume the role of Society president for 2025.

“The opportunities I have been afforded in my career allow me to better understand and connect with all ASCE members – educators, researchers, private-sector practitioners, public-sector engineers, and entrepreneurs,” Peña-Mora said in his nominee’s vision statement.

“These experiences inform my vision for the future of ASCE: Together, building a better world for all.”

headshot of Feniosky Pena-Mora

With nearly 30 years of experience in academia and practice, Peña-Mora serves as the executive director of the Center for Buildings, Infrastructure and Public Space at Columbia University in New York, where he also has been the Edwin Howard Armstrong Professor of Civil Engineering and Engineering Mechanics since 2012. He’s been a visiting professor in China for Nankai University since 2017 and Tsinghua University since 2013. Additionally, Peña-Mora is the founder and president of Peña-Alcantara Consultants Inc.

Peña-Mora is no stranger to leadership roles within ASCE. He chaired the Construction Research Council from 2009 through 2011, the International Conference on Sustainable Infrastructure in 2017, and the Industry Leaders Council from 2020 through 2022.

Most recently, Peña-Mora served on the ASCE Board of Direction as an at-large director from 2019 through 2022, during which he also led the development of ASCE’s new strategic plan as chair of the Board Strategic Advisory Council.

Complete results of the 2023 ASCE election:

Society 2024 President-Elect

Feniosky A. Peña-Mora, Sc.D, P.E., NAS, CCM, F.CIOB, NAC, Dist.M.ASCE

Region 1 Director

Bradley A. Kubiak, P.E., M.ASCE

Region 1 Governor

Geoffrey B. Schwartz, P.E., M.ASCE

Region 2 Governor

Gregory J. Kuklinski, P.E., M.ASCE

Region 3 Governors

Melinda “Myndi” L. Bacon, P.E., M.ASCE

Jennifer L. Schaff, P.E., M.ASCE

Region 4 Governors

Charles “Chas” Webb, IV, P.E., M.ASCE

Ashley T. Smith, P.E., M.ASCE

Daren C. Williams, P.E., M.ASCE

Region 5 Director

Sarah L. Matin, P.E., M.ASCE

Region 5 Governors

Jacob B. Forrester, P.E., M.ASCE

Christopher G. Humphreys, P.E., M.ASCE

Region 6 Governors

Susan K. Roth, P.E., M.ASCE

Kensey W. Russell, P.E., M.ASCE

Region 7 Governors

Shawnna Erter, P.E., D.GE, F.ASCE

Caleb S. Stock, P.E., M.ASCE

Region 8 Governors

Jose Aguilar, P.E., ENV SP, M.ASCE

Lauren Nuxoll, P.E., M.ASCE

Region 9 Director

Yazdan T. Emrani, P.E., M.ASCE

Region 9 Governor

John B. Rogers, P.E., F.ASCE

Region 10 Governor

Panagiotis Chatzipanos, Ph.D., P.E., M.ASCE

Technical Region Director

LeAnne Napolillo, P.E., F.ASCE


Learn more about each of the incoming officers at the ASCE election page.